The Journey

This is a guest post by Sr. Kim Kessler who joined the Redeemer Sisters Refugee Ministry this past week and will be serving at the Motherhouse of the Sisters of the Holy Redeemer in Würtzburg, Germany until the beginning of November 2015: 

As I embark on a new journey in my life to travel to Germany to help with the guests staying at the Motherhouse in Wurzburg, I am thinking about the unknown for myself, but also the unknown of all the thousands that flee their country to seek asylum.

As we boarded the plane to get into our seats many of the passengers wanted to sit all together with their families, but their seats were separated from one another, so the stewardess asked if some of the passengers could move their seats.  Some passengers would not move and some of the passengers who wanted to sit all together with their wives and children were angry at the stewardess. As the stewardess tried to find a solution, some passengers seemed very stressed out.  This made me think of the people fleeing from Syria or Afghanistan to seek asylum – how they are separated from their loved ones and many family members.  How stressful the journey must be, I cannot even imagine.

As I sat in the plane and felt tired, hungry and had a 7 hr. trip to Germany ahead of me, I thought about this plane ride in such a different way from ever before in my life.  I thought about how I was able to have a meal before leaving for the airport.  I did not need to worry about where is my next meal is coming from.  I thought about how I had the comforts of being driven to the airport by Sr. Anne Marie and Sr. Martina.  Even while at the airport, I was able to call family and friends before leaving.

This is a luxury for many of the people fleeing their countries for a better life.  Many of the people fleeing just have the clothes on their backs, bare essentials. Unlike them, I don’t need to worry about the long and dangerous trip across thousands of miles or whether or not I will make the long trip and still have all of my family with me.

As I enjoyed my ride on the plane I listened to some music and found a song called “Real Love” by Blank and Jones.  As I listened to this song I was reminded of Jesus and his real love for me and all of his children.  Jesus is calling me to something deeper in my life at this time.  Jesus is letting me know I need to love all his people unconditionally no matter what.  Jesus had to leave what he knew and his family to be crucified for our sins.  Jesus spread his redeeming love for our sins to be forgiven and to accept all people.

Real love is like a building with no walls- all are welcome to just come, stay and sit for a while.  Real love is being open to Jesus’ will and loving all his people with unconditional love.  Jesus is reminding me that I need to show mercy, compassion, and unconditional love to all his people.  Jesus is letting me know that he has prepared the way for me to help his people.

One thought on “The Journey

Leave a comment